About Me

About me? Well, I’ve been through a lot in my journey so far and I re-discover my life on a day to day basis. I’m continuously a work in progress. I started my new life at age 29 and have tried to never look back. As a fifty year old student, I realize I am somewhat unique and the exception to the rule. But two of my adult kids and my four grandkids live with me; they keep me young and on my toes. I have worked fulltime in the library at Queensborough Community College since 2003. I find myself really interested in info and entertainment technology and social networking, media and research. I have loved books and libraries for as long as I can remember!
I try to be a positive person, which is hard sometimes through my cynical eyes (I used to be such an optimist).  Inequality REALLY infuriates me. I hate labels of sex, gender, color, race, age, disability, religion, social status, you name it…constructs that serve to divide and enhance differences, when we’re just the same after all. Shouldn’t we follow the “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” rule? “Be the change you wish to see in the world”. I think each individual is obligated to take personal responsibility for the world around them. Yes, I’m a lot less hippie than I used to be, but I still believe that OUR ACTIONS positively or negatively affect MORE than just our little slice of life.

Leave a Reply

